Opinion on cashing in life insurance policy

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Malachi

Opinion on cashing in life insurance policy

Post by Malachi » Sat Dec 15, 2007 4:01 pm

My parents first bought life insurance for me when I was a child in the 70's. They made the payments until I was old enough (and responsible enough) to take over the payment which I've been paying now for many years.

The policy type is 'Modified Premium Whole Life'.

It currently has a $13,800 death benefit. Its cash value is $4700. The premium is $15.10/month.

I am 43 years old and have no family except for my Mother. My savings are well more than sufficient to cover my final expenses. To me there doesn't seem to be much of a need to keep this insurance.

So, I've been considering cashing it in. I figure I can put that $4700 to good use.

I thought I'd run it by you guys to get your opinions and get some thoughts on what else, if anything, I should consider.

Thanks.

grabiner
Advisory Board

Re: Opinion on cashing in life insurance policy

Post by grabiner » Sat Dec 15, 2007 5:32 pm

Malachi wrote:My parents first bought life insurance for me when I was a child in the 70's. They made the payments until I was old enough (and responsible enough) to take over the payment which I've been paying now for many years.

The policy type is 'Modified Premium Whole Life'.

It currently has a $13,800 death benefit. Its cash value is $4700. The premium is $15.10/month.

I am 43 years old and have no family except for my Mother. My savings are well more than sufficient to cover my final expenses. To me there doesn't seem to be much of a need to keep this insurance.