Starting an automatic investment plan at Vanguard

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
JSandler

Starting an automatic investment plan at Vanguard

Post by JSandler » Tue Oct 19, 2010 1:55 am

I'm a beginner investor with some questions on starting an automatic investment plan at vanguard. I've been investing $2k automatically every month in Vanguard ETFs through sharebuilder. I would like to buy directly from vanguard to cut down on commissions. But as you know, there is no automatic plan for ETFs. And the minimum investment is $3k for mutual funds.

So is there a way to start automatic investment at vanguard without having to invest $3k into each fund? I invest in 5 funds, which would mean I need $15k. If it makes a difference, I already have a tax-free muni fund worth $50k at vanguard, and about $50k of vanguard ETFs at sharebuilder.

Thanks for helping.

nisiprius
Advisory Board
Location: The terrestrial, globular, planetary hunk of matter, flattened at the poles, is my abode.--O. Henry

Re: Starting an automatic investment plan at Vanguard

Post by nisiprius » Tue Oct 19, 2010 5:52 am

JSandler wrote:I'm a beginner investor with some questions on starting an automatic investment plan at vanguard. I've been investing $2k automatically every month in Vanguard ETFs through sharebuilder. I would like to buy directly from vanguard to cut down on commissions. But as you know, there is no automatic plan for ETFs. And the minimum investment is $3k for mutual funds.

So is there a way to start automatic investment at vanguard without having to invest $3k into each fund? I invest in 5 funds, which would mean I need $15k. If it makes a difference, I already have a tax-free muni fund worth $50k at vanguard, and about $50k of vanguard ETFs at sharebuilder.