Multiple commissions on partially filed ETF orders

Discuss all general (i.e. non-personal) investing questions and issues, investing news, and theory.
Topic Author
tc101

Multiple commissions on partially filed ETF orders

Post by tc101 » Wed May 26, 2010 3:31 pm

Today I put in a limit order on a non vanguard ETF, good for 60 days. It was partially filled. I only got 9 shares, and a $2 commission. I just called Vanguard and learned that if it is filled or partially filled again tomorrow, I will get another $2 commission.

It is very unlikely, but in theory, if I leave the order open and only get a few shares a day every day for the next 60 days, I could pay a total of $120 in commissions on this one trade.

Something to think about with thinly traded ETFs.
. | The most important thing you should know about me is that I am not an expert.

tfb

Re: Multiple commissions on partially filed ETF orders

Post by tfb » Wed May 26, 2010 3:44 pm

tc101 wrote:Today I put in a limit order on a non vanguard ETF, good for 60 days. It was partially filled. I only got 9 shares, and a $2 commission. I just called Vanguard and learned that if it is filled or partially filled again tomorrow, I will get another $2 commission.

It is very unlikely, but in theory, if I leave the order open and only get a few shares a day every day for the next 60 days, I could pay a total of $120 in commissions on this one trade.

Not sure about VBS, but at other brokers, you can specify 'all or none' as a condition of your order. Getting a partial fill means you are getting the lowest price of the day. Paying $2 is worth it IMO.
Harry Sit, taking a break from the forums.

Ed 2

Post by Ed 2 » Wed May 26, 2010 3:45 pm

tc101 wrote:Today I put in a limit order on a non vanguard ETF, good for 60 days. It was partially filled. I only got 9 shares, and a $2 commission. I just called Vanguard and learned that if it is filled or partially filled again tomorrow, I will get another $2 commission.