Books to get to the "Next Level"

Discuss all general (i.e. non-personal) investing questions and issues, investing news, and theory.
Topic Author
igmitb

Books to get to the "Next Level"

Post by igmitb »

Quick background: I'm currently a college student, finance major, who's looking to learn as much as possible about finance/the markets/investing/etc. I have taken the basic courses such as financial and managerial accounting, economics, and introductory finance.

I have a pretty strong grasp on the basics of investing: the various securities and their risk/return, how trading works, etc.

But I would like to take my knowledge to the next level. What are the best books to do this?

I've heard good things about Graham's "Intelligent Investor", and Jim Cramer's "Mad Money", but wanted your opinions.

I am interested in BOTH books on personal finance/investing and about Wall Street in general, as I have recently read Liar's Poker and found it most interesting.
SoonerSunDevil

Re: Books to get to the "Next Level"

Post by SoonerSunDevil »

igmitb wrote:Quick background: I'm currently a college student, finance major, who's looking to learn as much as possible about finance/the markets/investing/etc. I have taken the basic courses such as financial and managerial accounting, economics, and introductory finance.

I have a pretty strong grasp on the basics of investing: the various securities and their risk/return, how trading works, etc.

But I would like to take my knowledge to the next level. What are the best books to do this?

I've heard good things about Graham's "Intelligent Investor", and Jim Cramer's "Mad Money", but wanted your opinions.

I am interested in BOTH books on personal finance/investing and about Wall Street in general, as I have recently read Liar's Poker and found it most interesting.