Portfolio Review

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
GamerDad

Portfolio Review

Post by GamerDad »

Hello All,
First post here as I only recently found and joined this forum! While I was a good saver for the last decade, I am new to the world of investing and know that I have a lot to learn. I am a bit stuck regarding whether or not I have set my portfolio up correctly or what I can do better. Alongside that, I am simply trying to figure out how to save more since I feel as though I am falling behind with not yet starting a 529 for my 2 year-old child or beginning to build a taxable account on the side.

I hope to gain insight/guidance into how my portfolio currently stands and what potential changes I should consider making in order to balance it better. Thank you all in advance!

Emergency Funds: Approximately 7 months of living expense coverage in a HYSA (3.75% APY).

Debt:
  • Mortgage ($305k; 30 year at 5.25% interest rate)
  • ~$30k remaining on my wife’s student loans; we currently have the money to pay this off in the HYSA (on top of emergency funds) and are waiting on the Supreme Court ruling on student debt relief and for loan repayments to begin again
Tax Filing Status: Married Filing Jointly

Tax Rate: 12% Federal; 6.5% State

State of Residence: South Carolina

Desired Asset Allocation: 90% Stocks / 10% Bonds
Desired International Allocations: I am thinking around ~20% of stock, but am unsure and open to suggestions

Please provide an approximate size of your total portfolio: ~270k (excluding emergency fund and earmarked student loan funds)

Current Retirement Assets:
Taxable: (3.9%)
Note: I am unsure if I should have listed these as they will likely not be held until I retire. My plan would be to migrate funds from these into retirement accounts if I were to close them out.
  • 3.7% - I-Bond