State pension credit purchase question

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
lws6772

State pension credit purchase question

Post by lws6772 »

Turns out I'm eligible to buy back 4 years state service at a price just under $17K. The money can come from various eligible retirement plans, a trad ira or even cash. My question is, if I just write them a check will it create any negative tax consequences or a problem with the IRS? I'm not good at these things and trying not to complicate things. Thanks very much for any insight.
Wiggums

Re: State pension credit purchase question

Post by Wiggums »

You don’t want to take the money out of a retirement plan if it will be considered a pre-tax distribution. Especially if you’re under Age 59 1/2
"I started with nothing and I still have most of it left."
arcticpineapplecorp.

Post by arcticpineapplecorp. »

It will only create a tax situation now if you withdraw funds from IRA to make the payment. Otherwise if you take money from checking it creates no issues. It may increase taxes later because presumably your pension will be higher.
It's hard to accept the truth when the lies were exactly what you wanted to hear. Investing is simple, but not easy. Buy, hold & rebalance low cost index funds & manage taxable events. Asking Portfolio Questions | Wiki
DavidW

Post by DavidW »

I could be wrong but I understand that you can transfer funds directly from a 401k plan without having to "cash out" to pay for it. I believe CalPers offers that. You may want to confirm with the administrator
Topic Author
lws6772

Post by lws6772 »

DavidW wrote: Mon May 16, 2022 4:09 pm I could be wrong but I understand that you can transfer funds directly from a 401k plan without having to "cash out" to pay for it. I believe CalPers offers that. You may want to confirm with the administrator