Life advice for recent graduate

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
Topic Author
riverbluff

Life advice for recent graduate

Post by riverbluff » Fri Jan 17, 2020 6:53 pm

Hello all!
I am:
- Recently Graduated
- Relocating and starting a new job in early February

I am just looking for any life advice in general. Personal finance related or not - it doesn't matter. I studied finance in school so I have a pretty good understanding of the need to save early and often to eventually achieve FI.

What do you know now that you wish you knew when you were younger?
What mistake do you regret making that you could go back and change?
What is the one piece of advice you could give to someone in my position?

Any and all feedback is welcome, Thanks! :sharebeer :sharebeer

KlangFool

Re: Life advice for recent graduate

Post by KlangFool » Fri Jan 17, 2020 7:05 pm

OP,

A) The fatal financial mistake for most recent graduates is buying too much house. Then, they are stuck financially.

B) A minor but equally important mistake is not knowing how the tax system works. They do not know how to make use of the 401K and Roth IRA.

KlangFool

fredflinstone

Post by fredflinstone » Fri Jan 17, 2020 7:22 pm

Exercise every day and eat a low-carb diet rich in meat, fish, poultry, and vegetables.

Trader Joe

Post by Trader Joe » Fri Jan 17, 2020 7:45 pm

riverbluff wrote:
Fri Jan 17, 2020 6:53 pm
Hello all!
I am:
- Recently Graduated

I am just looking for any life advice in general. Personal finance related or not - it doesn't matter. I studied finance in school so I have a pretty good understanding of the need to save early and often to eventually achieve FI.

I have been in your exact same position. My recommendations/advice are below: