Asset allocation and rebalancing for a graduating medical resident

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
darknocturnaldream

Asset allocation and rebalancing for a graduating medical resident

Post by darknocturnaldream » Fri Feb 08, 2019 7:22 pm

Hi! Need some help in making decisions w/r/t fixing my asset allocation and rebalancing.

Background: I graduated medical school, paid off my loans (not too much), have lived frugally in a high COL area, have some 1099 income from moonlighting and am about to graduate residency in June. I’m anticipating some changes..like the shiny higher paycheck! I’ve been doing what my father says for the past couple years (basically, all in on index funds) but feel like I need more perspective/opinions based on everything I’ve read.

Emergency funds: Done
Debt: None (at some point would like to buy a house, car, etc.)
Tax Filing Status: Single
Tax Rate: 22% Federal, 9.30% State
State of Residence: CA
Desired Asset allocation: 80% stocks / 20% bonds
Desired International allocation: 20% of stocks
Size of current portfolio: mid five-figures

Taxable brokerage at Fidelity
45% FXAIX Fidelity 500 Index Fund (ER 0.015)
Roth IRA at Fidelity
18% FXAIX Fidelity 500 Index Fund (ER 0.015)
2% PFE Pfizer (ER n/a, but does pay some nice dividends!)
457b (government) with 3% match from employer
21% Must stay in a stable asset fund until June 2019, then I'll do a rollover
Solo 401K
0% - need help with this!
Other
10% 1099 income that I intend to fund the Solo 401K

New Annual Contributions
$6K Backdoor Roth IRA (after I fund the Solo 401K)
? Solo 401K contribution - dependent on 1099 income, will be less compared to last year
? Taxable - dependent on income this year, will be same or less than last year for many reasons