Roth IRA for kids

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills.
Topic Author
newbie003

Roth IRA for kids

Post by newbie003 »

Hi. It's my understanding that a child (9 years old for example) can open a ROTH IRA and contribute earned income. I believe that earned income could be yard work, snow shoveling, baby sitting, etc...

If this is indeed the case, and one does open a ROTH for their child, and the child contributes a couple of hundred dollars a year (from the income sources mentioned above), does one require any proof of said work? In other words, should the child literally create an invoice for the yard work and have some sort of proof of income, even if it's just a neighbor giving him $20 to help out around the yard?

Thank you.
cresive

Re: ROTH Ira for kids

Post by cresive »

I am not a lawyer, but it is my understanding that you have to have documented income to qualify for a Roth. You can also only deposit up to your income level. If your child only makes $1000 doing lawns, then your limit is $1000 to donate into your Roth.
BeautifulDisaster

Post by BeautifulDisaster »

The best way to handle your son's income is to keep careful records of each job, when it was done, for whom, and how much he was paid. And it would make a stronger case if he mowed lawns not just for you but for other customers as well
Source: https://www.kiplinger.com/article/savin ... h-ira.html
Topic Author
newbie003

Post by newbie003 »

Perfect, thanks!
snowman

Post by snowman »

We did that with our kids. It was more about the financial lesson, not the amount. We opened accounts at TDA and were buying single shares of VTI or VEU when enough funds were available. No minimums, no fees (the accounts have since moved to Vanguard).