Advice about retirement in the EU [Spain ex-pat, US resident]

For residents of Spain.
Topic Author
rgval

Advice about retirement in the EU [Spain ex-pat, US resident]

Post by rgval »

[Moved into a stand-alone thread from: Advice about retirement in the EU (Spain) --admin LadyGeek]

Hello experts!
I am new to investing, and I am learning a lot everyday thanks to everyone here. I would like to know how to organize better our finances in preparation for a potential return to the EU.

I am 37 from Spain, based in the US since 2009. My wife, 36, also from Spain has been in the US for 5 years. We hold visas and are resident aliens for tax purposes. We live in NY and our son was born here this February. We are Married Filing Jointly and our income tax bracket is 15%. We don't know where we'll retire but Spain is clearly a possibility.

I would like to share our current financial situation, and ask for advice about what type of accounts we should use to invest knowing that we might retire in our home country:
  • No debts
  • Capital One 360 MMA (Emergency)
  • Around $15k in cash
  • 401k contribution up to 5% employer match (mine, managed by VOYA/morningstar)
  • Fidelity Traditional IRA (hers, 80% AGG, 10% EMB, 9% IVV)
  • HSA with roughly $300 (just started)
  • Wealtfront joint investment account (testing with $1k, 90/10)
  • Betterment joint investment account (testing with $1k, 90/10)
  • After reading more a more about robo-advisors... I just opened a joint investment account in Vanguard ($3k not invested yet)
We have just started saving and our current aim is to save as much a possible in the US and obtain finance independence in around 15 years, keeping our current low annual expenses. We are thinking in a total AA of 90% stocks, 10% bonds.