Best "investment tip" I have gotten from Bogleheads

Questions on how we spend our money and our time - consumer goods and services, home and vehicle, leisure and recreational activities
Topic Author
dodecahedron

Best "investment tip" I have gotten from Bogleheads

Post by dodecahedron » Wed Aug 02, 2017 8:39 pm

As a card-carrying economist, I construe the word "investment" more broadly than most folks, and it therefore hit me today that the suggestion to acquire an Instant Pot (electronic pressure cooker), something that never would have occurred to me had I not seen enthusiastic endorsement here, has a vastly higher rate of return (RoR) than anything else I have picked up here. I really was not much of a cook before I bought one (on sale on Amazon Prime Day 2016 for $69.99) last summer. But since then, I have learned how to make all kinds of inexpensive, appealing, tasty and nutritious meals--so I am spending a lot less on eating out and processed convenience foods. I am quite sure I have already saved over 10 times its cost in decreased food costs alone, not to mention the savings in time, convenience, reduced energy use in the summer (because I use my oven less in the summer and therefore my AC doesn't have to work so hard.)

Would be interested to hear others share the best personal consumption "investment tips" they have gotten from this forum.

(Edited to add the word "consumption" in the last sentence above to clarify that I am not asking about what most people would usually consider "investment" tips, i.e., stocks and bonds, but about investments in consumption items that reduce future costs.)
Last edited by dodecahedron on Wed Aug 02, 2017 10:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.

lightheir

Re: Best "investment tip" I have gotten from Bogleheads

Post by lightheir » Wed Aug 02, 2017 9:04 pm

What are your favorite recipes? Just curious how it became such a big factor in your life. Did you cook much before it?

It does get great reviews!

Topic Author