Car Registration in 2 states? - VA & DE

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
Flynlow

Car Registration in 2 states? - VA & DE

Post by Flynlow » Mon Oct 31, 2016 6:43 pm

Hi all,

First post, though I've read the forum for a long time. Very, very helpful folks around here :happy .

I am fortunate enough to own a home in both Virginia and Delaware. I am still a Virginia resident, and currently have my car(s) registered there, drivers license, voters registration, etc. However, I am spending a fair bit of time in Delaware, and considering leaving a car up here full time. If I do so, is it possible or necessary to register it in-state? Are there any issues with having a vehicle titled and registered in Delaware while maintaining a Virginia driver's license?

Hopefully someone has gone through this before and has some insights to offer. The DMV page for both states was mostly geared to new residents, I had difficulty finding a section that encompasses my admittedly uncommon situation. Thanks!

Jack FFR1846

Re: Car Registration in 2 states? - VA & DE

Post by Jack FFR1846 » Mon Oct 31, 2016 8:24 pm

I have to believe that costs in DE must be much lower than surrounding states. Their DMV has a section for non-resident registration where you need to provide proof that the car will be garaged in DE.....and it cannot leave the state. Sounds the opposite of most states that require you get license and registration in the state within 30 days of arrival.
Bogle: Smart Beta is stupid

drawpoker

Post by drawpoker » Tue Nov 01, 2016 8:58 am