transferring SEP IRA to vanguard solo 401k via fidelity

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
dmlr06

transferring SEP IRA to vanguard solo 401k via fidelity

Post by dmlr06 »

I am an independent contractor with an LLC. I have a SEP IRA managed by a financial advisor but want to switch to a solo 401k that I manage myself. I want to use Vanguard. I know their solo 401k doesn't allow rollovers from a SEP IRA. I'm looking at rolling the SEP over to fidelity and then rolling the 401k from fidelity to Vanguard. Has anyone here done that? Any tips? Will I be penalized if I only have the solo 401k at Fidelity for a few days or weeks? Any extra fees for the short term?
Thanks!
siamond

Re: transferring SEP IRA to vanguard solo 401k via fidelity

Post by siamond »

Why wouldn't you manage your SEP-IRA yourself? Say good-bye to the advisor, and that's it, you're done... Over time, once you retire, you should roll-over everything on a traditional IRA anyway. Keep it simple for now.
ERISA Stone

Post by ERISA Stone »

Does Vanguard really allow you to skirt their rules like this? In retirement plans, you must maintain account balances by source, i.e., 401k, profit sharing, match, rollover, etc. It seems to me that Vanguard doesn't care how the rollover contribution is in the plan, but if it's in the plan, they won't administer the individual 401k.

If you have a plan document that says rollovers aren't allowed, but you have rollover source, then you aren't operating the plan according to the terms of the plan document. You could grandfather sources from previous documents, but I don't think that's something any individual 401k plan vendor is going to do, considering the simplicity of their documents.

Do some on the board actually have experience doing this to get around Vanguard's rollover exclusion?
jjface

Post by jjface »