SEC Yield, YTM, Distribution Yield, Current Yield

Discuss all general (i.e. non-personal) investing questions and issues, investing news, and theory.
Topic Author
Kevin M

SEC Yield, YTM, Distribution Yield, Current Yield

Post by Kevin M »

I own muni bond funds and direct CDs (purchased directly from banks and credit unions). The CDs are safer, since they have no credit risk and low term risk due to the early withdrawal option, but the muni bond funds might provide higher after-tax yields in return for taking some credit risk and more term risk. When posting about CDs here, I've often compared the yields to Treasuries of the same maturity, since both have essentially no credit risk. For my own education, I thought it would be interesting to take a look at some individual 5-year munis; since I'm a CA resident and own both the CA intermediate-term and long-term bond funds, I looked at CA munis.

Part of this investigation involved looking at yield to maturity (YTM) and current yield for the bonds, and it occurred to me that it might be interesting and even educational to some Bogleheads to compare yield to maturity (YTM) and current yield for the individual bonds to SEC Yield and distribution yield for a bond mutual fund that might own these bonds. I'll start with the individual bonds, since I think they're easier to understand, and then draw the parallels to the yields for the bond fund.

At first I looked at AAA muni bonds only, since I probably wouldn't consider owning individual bonds with a lower credit rating. But then I saw that about 75% of the bonds in the Vanguard California Intermediate-Term bond fund (VCADX, Admiral Shares) were rated AA, so I decided to look at AA bonds instead, even though I probably wouldn't buy them. I searched the Fidelity website and found 12 AA-rated CA muni bonds that were close to a 5-year term to maturity. Here are the averages of the relevant numbers for the 12 bonds:

Term to maturity: 4.97 years.
Duration: 4.53 years