Aggressive asset allocation as a temporary measure [Spain]

For residents of Spain.
Topic Author
hopper8

Aggressive asset allocation as a temporary measure [Spain]

Post by hopper8 »

I’m new at investing, but I’ve been reading quite a lot about it. Two key lessons I learn from these readings: 1) The need diversify your portfolio across different types of securities, sectors, size of companies and various markets in order to reduce my portfolio’s volatility; 2) Adopt a buy and hold strategy, without being tempted to time the market; 3) The need to invest primarily on core holdings that could be reliable year in and year out.

Still, given my circumstances, I’m thinking of having – as a temporary measure - a more aggressive asset allocation and would like your feedback about it.
First, my circumstances: From the sell of an apartment I owned, I have 500k dollars and I expect to inherit another 200k from my parents, probably in not a long-distance future (they’re both 90 years old) . I work as an independent free-lance consultant, so don’t have a steady monthly income, but because of particular circumstances, in the last couple of years I had a yearly shortfall of around 40k USD. So a major goal of my investment would be complementing my income, At the same time, my income might change because I’m exploring the possibility of changing my professional work and start a business, which of course I don’t know how it will go. At the same time, I’m 50 years old and would like to retire in around 13-15 years, so a second financial goal would be capital growth.

I realize that whatever type of investment I make, my financial situation is not sustainable in the long term unless I start earning more money. But my question is, given these special circumstances – quite a lot of cash but not sufficient to live from it in the long term future, and little current income, with uncertainty on this regard due to my change of job – what would you recommend in terms of asset allocation.