using etf to avoid citibank checking fees?

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
Topic Author
gips

using etf to avoid citibank checking fees?

Post by gips »

I've been using citibank for many years, their customer service used to be terrible but they've created a tier of service called citigold where if you keep $50k in bank accounts or $100k in brokerage they waive monthly fees and provide excellent service. Their savings account pays about .2% as opposed to the 1% I get elsewhere so the cost is about $400 per year which is too high.

It occurred to me that instead of investing $100k in my vanguard account and purchasing the total market fund I could buy the etf from ctii brokerage. My initial cost would be a $20 commission for purchase and then $20 for redemption.

anyone else do this with their bank?

tia,
clubby

Re: using etf to avoid citibank checking fees?

Post by clubby »

Personally, I would never do business with a bank known for crappy customer service unless you deposit a certain amount. Because eventually all their customer service will revert to the mean.
livesoft

Post by livesoft »

Yes, I do this at my bank: WellsFargo where all trades are free for me and all checking accounts are free for me.
Wiki This signature message sponsored by sscritic: Learn to fish.
veekay

Post by veekay »

I will never ever do business with Citibank again.

Besides their terrible customer service that has NOT improved, they outright lied to me and wasted hours of my time, on multiple occassions.

I emailed one of their executives about the experience and got the "Whatever, dude. We don't care" response.

Unfortunately, they hold my mortgage. I hope Citi goes bankrupt.

I still keep my credit cards with them only charging up a couple of dollars every few months or so to keep them open.