Young docs

Have a question about your personal investments? No matter how simple or complex, you can ask it here.
Topic Author
hma53

Young docs

Post by hma53 »

Hi,
i'm currently an intern now, soon to be a radiology resident come July 08. Noticed on another thread that there's a lot of other people in a similar situation as myself and was hoping to discuss some issues pertinent to us.

So far this year, I have 1) bought DI (own occ, specialty specific) from Berkshire, 2) started a roth with a Vanguard target retirement fund, which will be maxed out come April (my institution does not match, nor will my residency next year), 3) started a MMMF with vanguard prime with about 5000 in it now, and 4) payed down approx 2500 in my 4th year student loans, 6.62 interest, variable with some parental help.

My issues are:
1) moving to a new city in July (chicago), and considering buying a place
2) what to do about loans. I have 3 loans now, 80,000 consolidated at 2.8; 45,000 consolidated at 3.6; and my previously mentioned 45,000 at a variable 6.6%. All three are in deferment. I know not to touch the 3.6 and 2.8 loans for now; but the question is whether to pay down at least 2500 of the 6.6% for the tax deduction, or to invest this money. Assuming I can max out the roth again next year, do i go with the nonmatching 403b for a potential higher return?

anyone else with similar issues or with other problems specific to being a resident?
thanks

-Howard
White Coat Investor

Post by White Coat Investor »

Welcome to the forum. There are lots of docs on here. Be sure to check out this:

http://www.diehards.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=8300

Here is what I would do NOW as a resident:

1) Make sure you have adequate life insurance. Good job on the DI.

2) Max out the Roth for you and any spouse you may have ($5K each this year, $4K each for 2007.)

3) If you still have money left I'm impressed. Put it in that MMF of yours, you'll need it during your move to Chicago.