individual stocks Or mutual funds [Spain]

For residents of Spain.
Topic Author
amin

individual stocks Or mutual funds [Spain]

Post by amin »

Hi folks,

I hit this site accidentally when looking for some entries about an online broker. By the way, i want to thank you all for this usefull space...
Well i'am a newbie and looking forward to invest or trade (cant make the difference at this moment), this is my first time and i'm willing to start with $1000 i dont know much about markets and financials but i have been reading a lot about it last year, at first i thought it's better to buy individual stocks then changed my mind and thought about mutual funds, im a bit confused what should i do? i'm starting and actually i just want to test the waters but at the same time i dont want to lose easily my 1000$.

Some facts: I live outside usa (bank account outside usa), but i want to invest in usa markets (at least that's what i was recomended).

Thank you in advance for your help.

Amin
nisiprius
Advisory Board
Location: The terrestrial, globular, planetary hunk of matter, flattened at the poles, is my abode.--O. Henry

Re: individual stocks Or mutual funds

Post by nisiprius »

amin wrote:i'm starting and actually i just want to test the waters but at the same time i dont want to lose easily my 1000$
Use mutual funds. Maybe ETFs, which are a kind of mutual fund that is traded just like an individual stock.

Do NOT use individual stocks. All stock investing has an element of gambling, but picking individual stocks adds extra gambling to the intrinsic risk of the market. Big wins are possible; big losses are possible. Since you do not sound like a gambler, you do not want to do this.