Change in 2FA at Vanguard??

Questions on how we spend our money and our time - consumer goods and services, home and vehicle, leisure and recreational activities
Post Reply
Topic Author
SoDakJeff
Posts: 94
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2017 11:48 am

Change in 2FA at Vanguard??

Post by SoDakJeff »

I've been using a Yubikey to log into the Vanguard site for over a year. It's always been pretty straightforward - enter username and password, touch the key and I'm there. For the past week or so, I can no longer login using only the key. Now when logging in, I enter username and password, touch the key and then I'm taken to a different login page where I have to accept and submit my username and password again which takes me to a security code page where I have to click on a link to have them send a code to my phone.

I spent almost 3 hours on the phone with VG yesterday while various people tried to find out why this was happening. Long story short - the last guy I spoke with said he found that when you sign in using a key, the default code setting is automatically set to "always send a code". So, in effect, I now use 3FA to access Vanguard. Neither the VG guy or I could find any way to get around this.

Granted, this isn't end-of-the-world stuff, but I'm finding the extra step pretty irritating. I can still access my account.

Have others been experiencing this? Any explanation as to why they would have made a change like this?

Thanks for your input.
cas
Posts: 1346
Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2017 8:41 am

Re: Change in 2FA at Vanguard??

Post by cas »

I have no idea, except that the title of a possibly relevent recent thread was still lingering in the back of my mind:

May 27, 2021: Yubikey only at Vanguard now possible.

No idea whether that thread is useful or not.
Topic Author
SoDakJeff
Posts: 94
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2017 11:48 am

Re: Change in 2FA at Vanguard??

Post by SoDakJeff »

Funny you should mention that. While I was on the phone to Vanguard yesterday, the first guy I spoke to suggested that I disable the code setting, too. However, when I did that I wasn't able to access Vanguard at all. I was effectively locked out.

I'd login to VG with username & password, touch my key and then I'd be directed back to the security code page again. But since I had disabled security codes, there was nothing for them to send me. Part of the reason for the long phone call with VG was getting someone to restore the code settings the way they were.
quantAndHold
Posts: 5659
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2015 10:39 pm

Re: Change in 2FA at Vanguard??

Post by quantAndHold »

Sounds like your yubikey isn’t working anymore for some reason.
Yes, I’m really that pedantic.
User avatar
celia
Posts: 12724
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2008 6:32 am
Location: SoCal

Re: Change in 2FA at Vanguard??

Post by celia »

Have you tried rebooting your computer? Sometimes unexplained things get reset that way.
User avatar
kevinf
Posts: 394
Joined: Mon Aug 05, 2019 11:35 pm

Re: Change in 2FA at Vanguard??

Post by kevinf »

This has been happening to me as well, however the work around is simple. The first time you touch your key, you are AUTHed, but it drops you back to the login screen. Simply use a bookmark (like the link below) to jump straight to your homepage when you see the second login screen. No other tinkering needed. Hopefully they can fix the issue on their end soon, it's annoying.

https://personal.vanguard.com/us/myaccounts/balancesholdings
User avatar
txaggie
Posts: 45
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2017 11:35 pm

Re: Change in 2FA at Vanguard??

Post by txaggie »

kevinf wrote: Wed Jun 09, 2021 2:09 pm This has been happening to me as well, however the work around is simple. The first time you touch your key, you are AUTHed, but it drops you back to the login screen. Simply use a bookmark (like the link below) to jump straight to your homepage when you see the second login screen. No other tinkering needed. Hopefully they can fix the issue on their end soon, it's annoying.

https://personal.vanguard.com/us/myaccounts/balancesholdings
Thanks for the work around! That worked great. I couldn't figure out how to get in with my Yubikey. Hope Vanguard fixes this soon.
jojo7
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2021 8:38 am

Re: Change in 2FA at Vanguard??

Post by jojo7 »

Called Vanguard - security tech said he hadn't heard about this issue before and to clear cache in chrome - that didn't work. Using the bookmark method for now.
User avatar
Eagle33
Posts: 1388
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2017 3:20 pm

Re: Change in 2FA at Vanguard??

Post by Eagle33 »

OP
Which Vanguard platform are your accounts - newer brokerage platform or legacy mutual fund platform?
Rocket science is not “rocket science” to a rocket scientist, just as personal finance is not “rocket science” to a Boglehead.
User avatar
oldcomputerguy
Moderator
Posts: 11118
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 6:50 am
Location: Tennessee

Re: Change in 2FA at Vanguard??

Post by oldcomputerguy »

For what it's worth, I also use a Yubikey for 2FA on my Vanguard account, and it worked normally for me when I tried it just now (10:00 pm).
User avatar
kevinf
Posts: 394
Joined: Mon Aug 05, 2019 11:35 pm

Re: Change in 2FA at Vanguard??

Post by kevinf »

What platform and browser? It's still dropping me back to login... Win10 on Chrome. I also just tried an incognito window (no cookies/cache) and it still takes me back to a second login screen. Also tried both login screens, still same result.
Post Reply