Site briefly offline, Monday, 2021-10-11 after 8 PM PST

Discussions about the forum and contents
Post Reply
User avatar
Topic Author
LadyGeek
Site Admin
Posts: 76496
Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2008 5:34 pm
Location: Philadelphia
Contact:

Site briefly offline, Monday, 2021-10-11 after 8 PM PST

Post by LadyGeek »

There are two types of maintenance which keeps us running.

1. Myself and mingstar maintaining the site software.
2. Maintenance by our hosting facility. Our hosting facility controls the hardware and software that our virtual servers run on.*

This time, it's (2). Our hosting facility has notified us that they will be upgrading our servers some time within an 8 hour window starting Monday, 8 PM PST.

If there is an outage, it could last up to 60 minutes.

Pacific - 8 PM Monday to 4 AM Tuesday
Mountain - 9 PM Monday to 5 AM Tuesday
Central - 10 PM Monday to 6 AM Tuesday
Eastern - 11 PM Monday to 7 AM Tuesday

UTC - 03:00 Tuesday to 11:00 Tuesday

Please copy your posts into a text editor before posting. If the server disappears during this time, you won't lose your post.

To say this another way, the servers may be offline for up to an hour. We don't know when the outage will occur, but it will be between the times listed above.

* Server configuration is described in detail here.

Note: A previous outage notice is here: Site briefly offline, Thursday, 2021-09-23 after 8 PM PST

(This thread is posted in the Forum Issues and Administration forum and appears in all forums.)
Wiki To some, the glass is half full. To others, the glass is half empty. To an engineer, it's twice the size it needs to be.
User avatar
Stinky
Posts: 8677
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 11:38 am
Location: Sweet Home Alabama

Re: Site briefly offline, Monday, 2021-10-11 after 8 PM PST

Post by Stinky »

Bump.
It's a GREAT day to be alive! - Travis Tritt
User avatar
Topic Author
LadyGeek
Site Admin
Posts: 76496
Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2008 5:34 pm
Location: Philadelphia
Contact:

Re: Site briefly offline, Monday, 2021-10-11 after 8 PM PST

Post by LadyGeek »

Bumping for visibility.
Wiki To some, the glass is half full. To others, the glass is half empty. To an engineer, it's twice the size it needs to be.
User avatar
Stinky
Posts: 8677
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 11:38 am
Location: Sweet Home Alabama

Re: Site briefly offline, Monday, 2021-10-11 after 8 PM PST

Post by Stinky »

Has the outage already happened?

Didn’t notice anything overnight (as of yet).
It's a GREAT day to be alive! - Travis Tritt
User avatar
Topic Author
LadyGeek
Site Admin
Posts: 76496
Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2008 5:34 pm
Location: Philadelphia
Contact:

Re: Site briefly offline, Monday, 2021-10-11 after 8 PM PST

Post by LadyGeek »

Neither did I - that's good. The time period for the outage is over.

(This thread no longer appears in all forums.)
Wiki To some, the glass is half full. To others, the glass is half empty. To an engineer, it's twice the size it needs to be.
Post Reply