Interest/Dividends better than capital gains for Portuguese NHR - now what ?

For investors outside the US. Personal investments, personal finance, investing news and theory.
Sister forums: Canada, Spain (en español)
---------------
Topic Author
NHRinvestor2024

Interest/Dividends better than capital gains for Portuguese NHR - now what ?

Post by NHRinvestor2024 »

I'm a Portuguese NHR tax resident so can get interest and dividends tax free from many countries - and have Polish and British citizenship.
I recently sold my house and moved to Portugal in 2023, just before Portugal ended its NHR scheme.

The current situation is that interest and dividends are tax free (provided they are not from tax havens), and capital gains are taxed at 28%.

I've about $900K invested via Schwab in ultra short term T bills that yield over 5% in interest paymemts which I am happy with. But I've discovered that were I to die this would fall under American Estate taxes, so I will be moving the funds to Europe. My current plan is to buy Irish domiciled UCIT EFTss with a focus on paying out income as opposed to capital gains. (Capital gains are taxed at 28% in Portugal - so distribution not accumulating).

However, it seems that dividends, interest are paid to the Irish domiciled UCIT EFTs will often be subject to withholding taxes at source before they are paid into the EFT, and that payments from the Irish EFT to me will be classified as dividends.

I'm a bit surprised at how low the yields are on bond and dividend orientated UCITs (3-4% ).

Does anyone have recommendations of Irish domiciled UCIT EFTs UCITs that pay the highest yields.

Are there any EFTs structured for investors who have a higher tax rate on capital gains than dividends so that if the capital value of the bonds.equities