Pound weakness - impact on investment strategy?

For investors outside the US. Personal investments, personal finance, investing news and theory.
Sister forums: Canada, Spain (en español)
---------------
Topic Author
rohitiiml

Pound weakness - impact on investment strategy?

Post by rohitiiml »

Hi, I am a UK resident with both me (38) and my spouse (39) earning in GBP. Intending to work till 50 before any realistic reduction in employment.

Over time I have noticed that every time there is a drawdown in global markets, GBP often weakens too. This is fine for me as my non-home assets are entirely in globally diversified index funds (100% vanguard global equity index funds). So the GBP weakness has not hurt me on the investing end.

However, with the GBP continuing to weaken and some dire levels being reached, as well as more dire predictions coming (albeit i take those with a pinch of salt), I wanted to ask how others are incorporating heightened risk of GBP depreciation into their investing plans.

Part of me says that it is a natural hedge i.e. if gbp weakens, then existing portfolio increases in value though future purchases are less attractive. Vice versa also is ok since we are in accumulation phase and hence if gbp strengthens, then future purchases become more attractive.

However, just curious what other UK investors are doing and whether there are any lessons to incorporate from previous experiences.
Valuethinker

Re: Pound weakness - impact on investment strategy?

Post by Valuethinker »

rohitiiml wrote: Wed Sep 21, 2022 4:54 am Hi, I am a UK resident with both me (38) and my spouse (39) earning in GBP. Intending to work till 50 before any realistic reduction in employment.