US expats: Moving from non-EU country to EU, getting locked out from US ETFs, esp. with IBKR

For investors outside the US. Personal investments, personal finance, investing news and theory.
Sister forums: Canada, Spain (en español)
---------------
Topic Author
occambogle

US expats: Moving from non-EU country to EU, getting locked out from US ETFs, esp. with IBKR

Post by occambogle »

U.S. citizen expat currently living in a non-EU country with an Interactive Brokers brokerage account and Roth IRA account. As a non-US resident I'm restricted from buying any US mutual funds, but that's OK because as a non-EU resident I'm not affected by PRIIPS/KID issues, so I still have access to the whole range of US ETFs and have built up a US ETF portfolio in both those accounts. As the account is with the US arm of IBKR, there are no FBAR or FATCA issues etc.
If I were to move to the EU in the future, I'm worried that I'd suddenly get locked out from buying US ETFs - I realise I'd be able to keep what I have now but my understanding is I wouldn't be able to buy new US ETFs, or rebalance etc.... correct?
Have any other US expats been in the same situation? Especially with Interactive Brokers, but also generally? How did you handle it and what did your brokerage do?
I don't have a viable permanent US address I can use or family member there etc so I guess I'd be tempted to "forget" to update my address and keep my IBKR account address as the non-EU country, but wondering what others have done in a similar situation...
Last edited by occambogle on Thu Sep 17, 2020 1:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.
galeno

Re: US expats: Moving from non-EU country to EU, getting locked out from US ETFs, esp. with IBKR

Post by galeno »

As a USA expat why don't you use USA Schwab or USA Fidelity and KISS (keep it simple)?

If we could hold VT (USA Vanguard) and pay the L1/L2 dicidend withholding taxes of VWRD (Ireland Vanguard) we would. (33% taxes vs 11% taxes).
KISS & STC.
Topic Author
occambogle