[Germany] First time investor_Seeking advice_Beginner

For investors outside the US. Personal investments, personal finance, investing news and theory.
Sister forums: Canada, Spain (en español)
---------------
Topic Author
Jackleh_jon

[Germany] First time investor_Seeking advice_Beginner

Post by Jackleh_jon » Sat Jun 27, 2020 10:37 am

I am new to investing and to this forum as well. “The little book of common sense investing” brought me here and additional to the wiki sections, I have also checked relevant questions (related to Germany) in this forum. I would also like to kindly ask to keep the acronyms to a minimum since I am very new at this.

Short facts:
(I am from Albania, so non-EU citizen, but I am living and paying taxes in Germany)
Debt: 0
Currency: EUR (I plan to stay in Germany long term, so I think it makes sense to invest in euros)
Amount to invest: 10k (adding 5-8k yearly)
Investing duration: Long term.
Preferences: Passively managed index funds (stocks) are what I want to invest in as a beginner. Between a fund that tracks the Total Stock Market or the S&P 500, I would go for the latter just because of the slightly higher returns. However, if you have a better suggestion I would be happy to hear it.

Questions:
1. Can I buy an index fund tracking S&P500 or US stock market while being a resident in Germany? If yes, how? / If no, what is an alternative?
2. Because of reading and getting the majority of the information from Jack Bogle’s book and this forum, then my obvious investment company is Vanguard (because I don’t have info about other companies). Is there a superior choice in my case?
3. How does the taxation work for investments in stocks? I know that income in Germany is taxed at up to 45%. Is it the same or are there specific rules?

Thank you everyone in advance

Topic Author
Jackleh_jon

Re: [Germany] First time investor_Seeking advice_Beginner

Post by Jackleh_jon » Mon Jun 29, 2020 2:18 pm

Two days gone and still zero comments.