Investing inheritance

For investors outside the US. Personal investments, personal finance, investing news and theory.
Sister forums: Canada, Spain (en español)
---------------
Topic Author
m1dnight

Investing inheritance

Post by m1dnight » Thu Feb 13, 2020 3:57 am

Hi all,

I inherited a large amount of money from my grandmother (+- 5 years of wages). I am looking for advice on what to do with it. I'm a computer scientist by eduction and trade, and I only recently started getting interested in the stock market. I have about 7000 EUR of my own savings invested in stocks and ETF's which I do for "fun and profit" and learning.

I try to read as much as I can and apply the knowledge to my own portfolio. I also followed a short evening course as a crash course introduction to the stock market. Here I learned about what financial instruments exist and what the basic properties are. But at the time of writing I'm not confident enough to build my own portfolio with such a large capital.

I realize I'm not experienced enough to invest all this money in stocks so I was thinking about combinations of investments.

The way I see it is I have the following options.
  • Invest all of it in a house. I can just so afford a house with the cash and then rent it. But a loan is pretty cheap and fiscally speaking interesting. So I could loan half of a house on shorter term (e..g, 10 years) , and buy the other half myself. But a rough estimate of this is that the money will yield +- 3%?
  • Invest a part (40%) of the money in ETF's like the CSPX or IWDA, and then some stocks of companies I can really understand (i.e., tech). On the other hand, I do feel that I don't have the skillset needed to value a stock for what its worth except reading a financial newspaper.

The other part of the money can then be left on my bank account in case I need it.