New to bonds - trying to understand [UK]

For investors outside the US. Personal investments, personal finance, investing news and theory.
Sister forums: Canada, Spain (en español)
---------------
Topic Author
seeker7

New to bonds - trying to understand [UK]

Post by seeker7 » Sat Oct 05, 2019 1:57 pm

Hello everyone,

I have been trying to invest in different ways for 15 years without satisfactory results. After reading a few books and blogs, I decided to stop trying to pick stocks and time the market. So I decided to just invest in a mix of equity and bonds, rebalance regularly and increase the share of bonds as the deadline approaches.

However, I am totally new to bonds, treasuries, gilts, etc. I am based in the UK, but my question is quite general. If I have a look at a bond ETF like this one:

https://vanguardinvestor.co.uk/investme ... _fund_link

It seems to me the annual prices vary quite wildly (-3.8%, +15%)... I thought bonds were a lot less volatile than this. At the end of the day, they are just a fixed income product with a low probably of something going wrong (I'm talking about treasuries or gilts here, not junk bonds), so how come the prices vary so much?

Thank you for any help in clearly my confusion!

TedSwippet

Re: New to bonds - trying to understand [UK]

Post by TedSwippet » Sun Oct 06, 2019 12:54 pm

Welcome.
seeker7 wrote:
Sat Oct 05, 2019 1:57 pm
It seems to me the annual prices vary quite wildly (-3.8%, +15%)... I thought bonds were a lot less volatile than this.