3 fund portfolio for UK investor

For investors outside the US. Personal investments, personal finance, investing news and theory.
Sister forums: Canada, Spain (en español)
---------------
Topic Author
chrismckay

3 fund portfolio for UK investor

Post by chrismckay » Sun Sep 15, 2019 2:09 pm

Hello,

I am a UK based novice investor, and I would like some advice on a "3 fund portfolio" from the vanguard suite of funds.

Most of the recommendations seem to be for American based investors and are along the lines of a "total US market fund", International fund, and a broad based "bond fund".

As a UK investor which funds should I consider?

Chris... :D

Pinkllama

Re: 3 fund portfolio for UK investor

Post by Pinkllama » Sun Sep 15, 2019 2:50 pm

I think a 3 fund portfolio is not relevant for UK investors unless you want to overweight the UK. Even if you do then you can do it with 2 funds.

If you are on the Vanguard platform then the following could be something to think about.

2 fund with UK bias
Vanguard Lifestrategy 100 & Vanguard Global Bond Index

No UK bias
Vanguard FTSE Global All Cap Fund & Vanguard Global Bond Index Fund

If you prefer ETF’s then a non UK biased choice would be;
Vanguard FTSE All World - VWRL & Vanguard Global Aggregate Bond Index - VAGP

If you want a separate UK fund then just add a FTSE 100, FTSE 250 or FTSE All-Share fund or ETF

Even simpler is a one fund portfolio- either Vanguard Lifestrategy or Vanguard Target Retirement. Just pick the one that has the equity/bond mix that you want. Just bare in mind that the target retirement ones slowly reduce the equity proportion down to 30% eventually.

Topic Author
chrismckay

Post by chrismckay » Sun Sep 15, 2019 3:15 pm

Pinkllama wrote:
Sun Sep 15, 2019 2:50 pm
I think a 3 fund portfolio is not relevant for UK investors unless you want to overweight the UK. Even if you do then you can do it with 2 funds.