iShares World Small Cap ETF vs. Vanguard Global Small Cap fund. Which one would you choose?

For investors outside the US. Personal investments, personal finance, investing news and theory.
Sister forums: Canada, Spain (en español)
---------------
Topic Author
YRT70

iShares World Small Cap ETF vs. Vanguard Global Small Cap fund. Which one would you choose?

Post by YRT70 »

I'd like to invest a small percentage of my assets in a world small cap fund or ETF. I can get these 2 through my broker:

iShares MSCI World Small Cap UCITS ETF USD (Acc) (EUR) TER: 0.35
IE00BF4RFH31

Vanguard Global Small-Cap Index Fund Institutional Plus EUR (Acc) TER: 0.3
IE00BFRTDD83

Which one would you prefer and why? (I'm rather new to investing and would like to learn more)
Last edited by YRT70 on Wed May 01, 2019 1:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.
danielbird193

Re: iShares World Small Cap ETF vs. Vanguard Global Small Cap fund. Which one would you choose?

Post by danielbird193 »

Hello and welcome to the forum. I'm thinking of adding a small cap fund as all so was interested in your post.

I was a bit confused by your comment that you're new to bonds. Both of these are equity funds - specifically investing in the equity of smaller firms which historically have out-performed large cap stocks (albeit at the price of higher volatility).

The two funds you mention are very similar in terms of the assets they invest in. All else being equal I'd pick the Vanguard fund which has lower charges, unless you have a special reason for preferring an ETF (some brokers have lower platform fees for ETFs compared to funds, which might outweigh the lower fund manager fee).
Topic Author
YRT70

Re: iShares World Small Cap ETF vs. Vanguard Global Small Cap fund. Which one would you choose?

Post by YRT70 »

danielbird193 wrote: Wed May 01, 2019 1:12 pm Hello and welcome to the forum.
Thank you.
I was a bit confused by your comment that you're new to bonds.