New to investing from Latvia

For investors outside the US. Personal investments, personal finance, investing news and theory.
Sister forums: Canada, Spain (en español)
---------------
Topic Author
dreamingHere

New to investing from Latvia

Post by dreamingHere » Sat Apr 13, 2019 4:29 pm

Hello,

I am new to investing, but been rather frugal all along. So now I have saved about 100K EUR free cash. Currently it is in deposits with 1,1% annual rate. Seems that putting that to work in stock market is a good idea. But I am rather worried about doing an investment now. I have checked Shiller PE ratio. It is scary for me to go in when it is that high. There has only been 1 peak that is higher than where we are now. It is not just about if I get a bit better return if I wait for a market correction, rather it is about very scary option to lose big part of investment early.

Is that a good idea to wait? Would you still suggest braking the sum up and invest in monthly bits over 1-2 years? MSCI World has been rather flat last year. And there are high risks across the board.

Another question is about broker that would make sense to use. I have not seen any low cost brokers operating in Latvia. Bank fees are not that low (0,25% transaction fee + 0,18% of NAV annually). What would you suggest?

typical.investor

Re: New to investing from Latvia

Post by typical.investor » Sat Apr 13, 2019 8:54 pm

dreamingHere wrote:
Sat Apr 13, 2019 4:29 pm
Hello,

I am new to investing, but been rather frugal all along. So now I have saved about 100K EUR free cash. Currently it is in deposits with 1,1% annual rate.
Welcome. Nice job saving the money.
dreamingHere wrote: