International investing [Resident Indian]

For investors outside the US. Personal investments, personal finance, investing news and theory.
Sister forums: Canada, Spain (en español)
---------------
Topic Author
CarpeDiem22

International investing [Resident Indian]

Post by CarpeDiem22 » Tue Mar 05, 2019 1:03 am

Note: I am a resident Indian wanting to invest outside India.
Note 2: I am avoiding Interactive brokers and Feeder funds due to high cost for the amount I have for investing.

After about 2 years of buy-and-hold investing experience under my belt, I have decided to get some international exposure through locally-domiciled mutual funds. I have filtered down to below two options. Which one would you suggest to use?

1. Motilal Oswal NASDAQ 100 ETF:
https://www.valueresearchonline.com/fun ... code=12498

Type: Index ETF
Benchmark: Nasdaq 100
Launch Date: Mar 29, 2011
Expense Ratio: 0.50%
Turnover: 14%
Assets: $17 mn

2. ICICI Pru US Bluechip Equity Fund
https://www.valueresearchonline.com/fun ... code=17160

Type: Actively Managed Fund
Benchmark: S&P 500
Launch Date: Jul 06, 2012
Expense Ratio: 1.10%
Turnover: 74%
Assets: $35 mn

I can understand the upside of selecting fund 1 over fund 2 in terms of metrics I mentioned above, but I am not able to understand the downside (if any) of tracking Nasdaq 100 instead of S&P 500. Thanks.

mighty72

Re: International investing [Resident Indian]

Post by mighty72 » Tue Mar 05, 2019 1:12 am

S&P500 is a broader representation of the US. stock market. NASDAQ will be more tech focused and not have any financial companies so excludes parts of the US economy.

Isn't there a passive S&P500 ETF?

AlohaJoe

Post by AlohaJoe » Tue Mar 05, 2019 1:15 am

CarpeDiem22 wrote:
Tue Mar 05, 2019 1:03 am
I am not able to understand the downside (if any) of tracking Nasdaq 100 instead of S&P 500. Thanks.