IT job satisfaction

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
Topic Author
sunnyday

IT job satisfaction

Post by sunnyday »

If you work/worked in the IT field, how satisfied are you with your job and what is your education and experience? Do you get excited about your work or do you dread Mondays?

I have a degree in Computer Engineering from a very good university and have 10 years of experience as a web applications / database developer. I enjoy the field and feel it's a great fit for me.

My current job has some great benefits -- job security, decent pay, great work life balance. It also has some downsides -- I've reached a bit of a ceiling (I work mostly with non-tech people), it's not a very motivating environment and there are some major politics.

On a scale of 1 to 5 my overall satisfaction level goes between a 2 and 4. I feel fortunate to have my job yet don't want to become complacent.
leonidas

Re: IT job satisfaction

Post by leonidas »

I have been in the IT field for about 18 years. I have a bs in finance and an mba in management. Started off as a cobol programmer for 5 years before I learned java. Now I basically manage a team of 6 developers. Up until 2009 things were great. Since then the work is more intense with tighter deadlines and more stress. Not to mention no promotions in 7 years and no raises in three. I know so many people just waiting to jump ship but their skills don't always match the opportunities available. As for me, I sometimes feel that I am just counting down to retirement. My work performance reviews have been stellar so not sure why I am stagnant but I don't let it affect my work. Either way still blessed in what I have. My rating would be 3 of 5 stars.
ChampagneOfBeers

Post by ChampagneOfBeers »

I’ve been involved with IT since the early 90s. Right now my job satisfaction is five stars. Took years to get there.