restricted stock

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
linuxuser

restricted stock

Post by linuxuser » Wed Mar 14, 2012 8:28 am

In my job offer, I was given restricted stock which apparently vest over time.

Can someone explain to me the tax consequences should I sell them when they vest?

cheese_breath

Re: restricted stock

Post by cheese_breath » Wed Mar 14, 2012 9:18 am

I'm no tax expert, but I have related questions. If the stock was really "given" (zero dollars cost) is it considered his now, or does it become his when it vests? If it becomes his now then my guess would be the basis is zero, and everything at time of sale would be capital gain. If it doesn't become his until it vests then my guess would be the basis at time of vesting would be treated as regular income. But as I said I'm no tax expert. Just asking some questions for you guys who are.
The surest way to know the future is when it becomes the past.

Valuethinker

Post by Valuethinker » Wed Mar 14, 2012 9:27 am

linuxuser wrote:In my job offer, I was given restricted stock which apparently vest over time.

Can someone explain to me the tax consequences should I sell them when they vest?
I can't comment re US tax.

I can say something about the SEC. You need 'registration rights' on the stock to sell it. Ie the stock has to be registerd with the SEC (the term applied is also 'piggyback rights' ie if someone else's class of stock is registered, so is yours) before it can be sold (for a listed company).

That's something you need to inquire about as there are often all kinds of restrictions about when employees can sell. In a worst case, your stock could vest (creating an income tax liability) but you are not given cash to pay the tax liability (don't know if that could happen in the US it certainly can in the UK).

ThinkingRunner

Post by ThinkingRunner » Wed Mar 14, 2012 9:29 am