First year HSA question

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
Topic Author
marstaton4

First year HSA question

Post by marstaton4 » Mon Jan 09, 2012 8:49 am

This is my first year with an HSA and I'm just looking for confirmation that what I'm doing is correct. I was originally going to open up a HSA Administrators account but with fees being approximately 60-70 for the first year and only being able to put in $2800 (employer gives me $250) of money that isn't deducted from paycheck ie paying SS tax, looks like I may have a hard time getting a decent return. Seems I may be better putting the whole year of money in my work sponsored account while not getting any significant interest, but getting a guaranteed tax savings. Any thoughts?

grabiner
Advisory Board

Re: First year HSA question

Post by grabiner » Mon Jan 09, 2012 11:41 pm

marstaton4 wrote:This is my first year with an HSA and I'm just looking for confirmation that what I'm doing is correct. I was originally going to open up a HSA Administrators account but with fees being approximately 60-70 for the first year and only being able to put in $2800 (employer gives me $250) of money that isn't deducted from paycheck ie paying SS tax, looks like I may have a hard time getting a decent return. Seems I may be better putting the whole year of money in my work sponsored account while not getting any significant interest, but getting a guaranteed tax savings. Any thoughts?
This is likely to be a good idea. If your employer's account has no fees, and the alternative account has $62 in fees, you would need to earn 2% more interest on the $3100 to make it up. Probably the best thing to do is to accumulate money in your employer's account for several years, then transfer it all at once.
Wiki David Grabiner

stlutz

Post by stlutz » Tue Jan 10, 2012 1:10 am