Those with finance degrees...

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
Topic Author
aares

Those with finance degrees...

Post by aares »

What do you do for a living?

Im currently on my way towards a finance degree, and I have no idea what Im going to do afterward. I have a plan to move to New York to get a job after school, but I don't know if I will be successful in getting a good job there.
nwrolla

Post by nwrolla »

Not trying to be a downer ( I am a finance student right now junior year ) But i would dual major in a secondary business degree I have a lot of friends who graduated last year and have had a hard time finding work in the finance field most are now returning for post bac accounting degrees. I do look forward to comments from other people because I have been wondering the same thing lately as spring term winds down.
Daffy

Post by Daffy »

Go work for a bank. The turnover ratio of credit underwriters at major banks is really high since the public has castrated them over the past 1-5 years. There's a serious glut of young talent to replace all the vets that have seen their careers destroyed by this cycle and have either quit, changed positions, or died due to the stress.
HardKnocker

Post by HardKnocker »

Here's a website that might help you out:

http://www.careers-in-finance.com/
“Gold gets dug out of the ground, then we melt it down, dig another hole, bury it again and pay people to stand around guarding it. It has no utility.”--Warren Buffett
Grt2bOutdoors

Post by Grt2bOutdoors »

Daffy wrote:Go work for a bank. The turnover ratio of credit underwriters at major banks is really high since the public has castrated them over the past 1-5 years. There's a serious glut of young talent to replace all the vets that have seen their careers destroyed by this cycle and have either quit, changed positions, or died due to the stress.
They are not hiring!