Side Job: Lawncare for Out of State Neighbor/Landlord

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
Topic Author
redlbj01

Side Job: Lawncare for Out of State Neighbor/Landlord

Post by redlbj01 »

Hello,

Situation: My neighbor is an out of state landlord who has had experience with "bad" tenants, that has left the rentals yard in a mess (about .25 acres) full of weeds. When he was in cleaning the home and getting it ready for new tenants, we happened to talk and he asked if I would be willing to manage his yard for him since he is out of state.

Question: My question is simply, what should I charge for services? $30 per hour + cost of products/chemicals/etc was my initial thought. Has anyone had any experience with a similar situation? Anything to watch out for?

I am NOT a professional lawn expert, and frankly, am still learning much on how to enhance the look of my own lawn (it's getting there though!). I've already stated this clearly to the landlord on multiple occasions as I don’t want to mislead him. He’d rather put his trust in a "neighbor" (I'm across the street), than a local lawn company. Being that he is out of state, I have some reservations about the deal, but the extra cash (fun money) couldn’t hurt either.

Thoughts?
CABob

Post by CABob »

Do you have any agreement as to what is to be done? Have you made an estimate of the time you would spend on the yard? Do you know what local professional gardeners charge? Would there be a matter of a business license required on your part? Might there be any liability issues? I would suspect that the landlord would want to agree on a monthly charge rather than an hourly rate.
Bob
Topic Author
redlbj01

Post by redlbj01 »