Who here has started a business?

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
waitforit

Who here has started a business?

Post by waitforit » Tue Feb 01, 2011 7:48 pm

Looking for some inspiration.

I owned a business that provided the majority of my income while I was in college. I ended the business when I graduated school and have worked as an employee since. I'm starting to get the itch to start a side business again and am having trouble coming up with a good idea. My last business just sort of fell into my lap, hit you across-the-head kind of thing. It was a no-brainer.

I am not looking to replace one job with another job. The best thing about my old biz was that although it took time and love to run it, it made money without my constant attention. I did not have to be 'clocked in' to keep the income rolling. The other thing was that it not require a large capital investment - all told I think I may have started it with up to $500 and after that it was self-sustaining. In case you are dying to know what magical business can do those things it was hosting game servers for online games. The part that made it passive was that I wrote a lot of code to automate much of the ordering, setup, and customer support processes.

Is anyone doing anything cool as a side business out there? Any advice for someone looking to jump back in?

When I ask real life folks I know about this about the only thing they can come up with is 'consulting'. For many reasons including the concept of replacing a job with a job I am not interested in renting my time for money. On the other hand, I don't know anyone in 'real life' that owns a business with a passive income component.

Kenster1

Post by Kenster1 » Tue Feb 01, 2011 8:07 pm

My wife and good friend are in the exploratory stage of starting up a business and it has to do with selling products via the web/online/e-commerce.