Medicare part D

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
tc101

Medicare part D

Post by tc101 » Wed Dec 29, 2010 11:29 am

How do you make decisions about Medicare part D? A friend asked me to research this for her 85 year old father, who is in pretty good health, but recently had to pay $200 for an antibiotic prescription.

I have two basic questions:

1. Is Medicare part D a good idea for everyone? If not, how do you decide?

2. How do you shop for the best plan? We are in Georgia. When I put my father on it years ago, I asked a friend who was a pharmacist and he told me which one to use. I have since lost touch with that friend, and I think most pharmacists would be forbidden from telling you the best plan.
. | The most important thing you should know about me is that I am not an expert.

Mel Lindauer

Re: Medicare part D

Post by Mel Lindauer » Wed Dec 29, 2010 11:37 am

tc101 wrote:How do you make decisions about Medicare part D? A friend asked me to research this for her 85 year old father, who is in pretty good health, but recently had to pay $200 for an antibiotic prescription.

2. How do you shop for the best plan? We are in Georgia. When I put my father on it years ago, I asked a friend who was a pharmacist and he told me which one to use. I have since lost touch with that friend, and I think most pharmacists would be forbidden from telling you the best plan.
Go on the link below and then click on "Compare plans" at the bottom. Then plug in your Dad's location, drugs and preferred drug store and let the program do the comparison and show you the results.

http://www.medicare.gov/navigation/medi ... art-d.aspx
Best Regards - Mel | | Semper Fi

sscritic

Post by sscritic » Wed Dec 29, 2010 11:44 am