Sick of my engineering profession

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
Topic Author
new2bogle

Sick of my engineering profession

Post by new2bogle »

I have a PhD in electrical engineering and have been working in the semiconductor industry for about 8 years now (yeah, not very long). I am becoming bored at work. It's not that I don't have work to do, I just don't like it anymore. I am 34.

What kind of options do I have? I am not a manager. I want to get out of engineering. One problem is that I make a pretty decent salary here (about 120k) and I don't know where else I can make a salary like that with my background.

Are there any ex-engineers out there? What did you do? MBA? Law? Any other advice? I would prefer to not dislike my job.
livesoft

Post by livesoft »

Why not become a stay-at-home parent?

Tell us what you like to do? Have you read "What Color Is Your Parachute?"
Random Musings

Post by Random Musings »

I was an engineeer. Now, I have an MBA and am primarily involved in corporate finance/accounting. Although I still get to use certain engineering skills. That's why I was hired, not just for the MBA but for my prior experience. MBA's that have other experience that go into the consulting fields are also usually hired because of their other experience since it can be leveraged.

Saying that, could you be happier at a completely different profession making less money? If not, that will eliminate a bunch of options (most of the time), as there are always a few special cases for everything.

RM
tc101

Post by tc101 »

I was a computer programmer/software engineer. I got sick of it several times over the course of my career. Twice I got out of it for a year, did something else, then came back to it fresh and enjoyed it much more.
. | The most important thing you should know about me is that I am not an expert.
xystici

Post by xystici »