Investing advice for K-12 private school education

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills.
Topic Author
4091bear

Investing advice for K-12 private school education

Post by 4091bear »

Hello Everyone,

This is my first ever post here so I’d like to apologize in advance if I’m posting on the wrong forum. I’m an absolute newbie in investing and only started my personal finance journey a couple of months ago. For context, I live in Washington state with my wife & daughter. My daughter just completed 1st Grade and will be attending 2nd Grade in fall. We have been enrolling her in a private school and planning to do so through High school. Washington State allows $10K/year withdrawal on 529 plan for K-12 private school education which I also only learned about recently. Her annual tuition fee is just over $10K and so far we have been paying it through our cash flow. We plan to fully cover her education costs at least through high school and partially/fully for her college tuition.

As for our financial position & plan, there is $17K on her 529 plan (2036 target enrollment) which we had thought could only be used for college. Outside of our 401K and taxable brokerage accounts, my wife and I are conservatively holding $120K liquid cash in a mix of checking, HYSA and CD for emergency fund & flexibility purposes. We maxed out our 401K through our employers and are investing $1K/week into our taxable brokerage account. We also contribute $500/month for our daughter, split between the 529 plan and a brokerage account we intended for her future. Between our conservative liquid savings and investments, as well as our income, we hope we have sufficient flexibility to make adjustments in our investment choices to get us to the ideal path.