Sellling an old house quickly

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills.
Topic Author
tc101

Sellling an old house quickly

Post by tc101 »

I get frequent junk mail from companies that say they will buy my house quickly, for cash.

I have a big old house that could use a lot of work. I could probably put $200K into it and sell it for $300K more but it seems like that would be more trouble than it is worth. If I was younger I would spend the money and fix it up, but I have plenty of money and don't know how much longer I have to live and don't want to spend any of my remaining time dealing with contractors and real estate people.

Are the companies offering a quick sale for cash legitimate, or would I be wasting my time with them? What would be the quickest and easiest way to sell a house that needs work.
. | The most important thing you should know about me is that I am not an expert.
Jack FFR1846

Re: Sellling an old house quickly

Post by Jack FFR1846 »

These places are legitimate and have cash to buy your house. Say it's normal value is $100k. They'll give you $50k cash.

You can also put it on the market with a regular old real estate agent. We did this when DW's aunt went into assisted living. Zillow said it was worth $295k, the city assessment was $80k and it was sold to a family of tradespeople. They bought it to live in and fix up over time. Sold for $135k. 3 decker built in 1890 on about 1/4 acre with lead paint, knob and tub wiring and asbestos. Can you beat that? Oh, wait, the oil tank leaked.
Bogle: Smart Beta is stupid
J295

Post by J295 »

My sense is the companies doing this deeply discount the price.

In our community, there are handful of locals that buy distressed properties. So here I would hire a real estate agent that works in that market and have him/her try and sell it as is where is.