Term Life Review

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills.
Topic Author
ExuberantlyRational

Term Life Review

Post by ExuberantlyRational »

I'm in my early 30s with a baby on the way, and want to purchase term life insurance to provide for my spouse/child if I pass away. This is my first time purchasing life insurance, so I greatly appreciate any feedback on the amount of coverage, how to structure the policies, and any other advice on how to purchase coverage.

High level financial picture: ~$600k his/~$300K her income, which will likely double in next 5 years. ~$1.2m invested. Annual living expenses of ~$300k including housing and ~$200K excluding housing.

I'm considering ~$10m of coverage which would allow for a $3m home purchase in HCOL area and $250k/yr of income at a 3.5% withdrawal rate. Employer provides $2m of coverage, so I'm looking to buy an incremental $8m. I'm considering the following policy ladder to have flexibility to drop policies as savings increase (rough prices based on term4sale.com).
10-year $2m ~$400/yr
15-year $2m ~$500/yr
20-year $4m ~$1,300/yr

Would be great to get your advice on:
  • How much coverage I should purchase?
  • How to structure the policy ladder?
  • How to find a good insurance agent? I plan on comparing term4sale against a local agent.
  • Does it matter which insurance company I purchase from? My understanding is that there haven't been any major term life bankruptcies?
cchrissyy

Re: Term Life Review

Post by cchrissyy »

i think that's dramatically over-insured.

it's as if you wouldn't be leaving behind any other assets, when really every year that goes by your savings and investments will grow substantially.

I would cut each of those figures in half. and probably skip the 15.

i don't think it matters what company you go with. i have amica because i have liked them in the past for auto and renters service.