Boglehead Artists

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills.
Topic Author
fourier

Boglehead Artists

Post by fourier »

I am looking for advice from others in my situation. I am a Boglehead and an artist. I have a day job. I like my day job because I teach art. However, I prefer making art and the day job gets in the way of that for sure.

Most of the people on this forum talk about retirement in a way I cannot relate to. I want to retire from my day job, not to travel or play video games, but so I can do my other job, which is to be an artist.

I don't make nothing as an artist. I make about $15K-$30K per year. Not enough to live on, but about half of that, plus if I had more time to be an artist, I would have more time to get gigs, and would make more money. The money, however, is most certainly not predictable.

I also am a Boglehead, so I have a large deposit of $$ in low cost Index funds making a good chunk of change each year.

I wonder if anyone else is in this situation. My issue is, financially I feel I am in a different boat than most on this forum. I don't need to retire with 25-35X expenses because I will still make money after retirement. Furthermore, I often get to travel as part of being an artist and usually I get paid to do that. So I don't need to pay large sums on extravagant travel. I've done a lot of that on someone else's dime.

I don't mind being poor. I have been most of my adult life, and I haven't allowed lifestyle creep to sneak in unexpected now that I have a high paying job.

Anyone else in a similar boat? I'd love to hear your perspective.
runner3081

Re: Boglehead Artists

Post by runner3081 »

You don't mention how old you are.

I think this is either 1) the situation everyone is in or 2) what everyone strives for.