Some fairly basic questions on taxes for a self-employed individual

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills.
Topic Author
scintillator

Some fairly basic questions on taxes for a self-employed individual

Post by scintillator »

I want to be able to ballpark what my tax burden will be if I decide to quit my job and become self-employed. I'm going to use round numbers to illustrate my questions.

I'm single and I work as an employee now and make $100k. I also own a house that I pay 5k in property tax on. And I receive 5k in dividends from VTI in a taxable account. So the IRS reckons this as $100k income minus the standard deduction, so $85,400, minus my half of FICA tax which I've paid from my earnings (7.65% x $85,400 = $6,533), so $78,867 is my taxable income, and so I owe about $12,658. And since I'm in the 15% bracket for qualified dividends, I'd owe 15% on the $5k, which is another $750. So I'd owe a total of $13,408 in federal income tax. (And I'll have paid the IRS $13,408 + $6,533 = $19,941. And including what my employer paid, the IRS received $26,474.) I assume I get no credit for the $5k I pay in property tax because it's less than the standard deduction. Does all that seem right?