Freelancing and unemployment insurance

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills.
Topic Author
retiringtype

Freelancing and unemployment insurance

Post by retiringtype »

Hi all. Quick question. I live in New York City. Spent the lasts 18 months doing freelance marketing work. Unfortunately, the project has ended. Does anyone know if I'm eligible to collect unemployment insurance here in New York, even though I was a contractor and not an official employee? I've gotten conflicting answers. Thanks in advance.
BogleTaxPro

Re: Freelancing and unemployment insurance

Post by BogleTaxPro »

retiringtype wrote: Fri Feb 09, 2024 10:44 am Hi all. Quick question. I live in New York City. Spent the lasts 18 months doing freelance marketing work. Unfortunately, the project has ended. Does anyone know if I'm eligible to collect unemployment insurance here in New York, even though I was a contractor and not an official employee? I've gotten conflicting answers. Thanks in advance.
Maybe, based on this: https://dol.ny.gov/unemployment/unemplo ... nd-farmers
Worth applying. All they can do is say no?
Harry Livermore

Post by Harry Livermore »

It won't hurt you to try.
As a self-employed individual who works in NYC, I can tell you that I have tried to collect unemployment twice in my life- once in the late 80s, and once at the start of the COVID shutdown.