Can I afford this house?

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills.
Topic Author
DLAKE

Can I afford this house?

Post by DLAKE »

[Topic is now in Personal Finance (Not Investing) - mod mkc]

Hi All,

I live in a MCOL area w/ low inventory for sale. I am currently renting at 2k/month, however, I'd like to purchase a home as I've been sitting on quiet a bit of cash in a HYSA account for several years saving and waiting and its starting to feel like the right time is never going to come.

I'm 32 y/o, single, and have two children living with me. I have about 500K in retirement/taxable accounts combined and 100k in a HYSA savings for a down payment. I would put 20% down on whatever house. Credit score is at 800+

House 1: $445,900
House 2: $392,900

I work in sales with a 106k base + commission.

Income:
2023 - 180k gross, $70k net (so far). Maxed out all retirement and backdoor + 18k in ESPP
2022 - 189k gross, $75k net. Maxed out all retirement and backdoor + 18k in ESPP
2021 - 200k gross, $84k net. Maxed out all retirement and backdoor + 11k in ESPP

Both are new construction/new development. In my area, there is very little pre-owned homes and almost new build only in the price range I'm looking. I am hesitant because I'm assuming my mortgage will probably be around $2,600 - $3,000 and it just feels like "a lot"

I do not have any debt, however, my car is 10 years old with a 150k miles. It is in good shape but you never know.

What're your thoughts? Can I afford this or do I continue renting? Will cash flow be tight?
PowderDay9

Re: Can I afford this house?

Post by PowderDay9 »

Based on your gross income, you should be able to afford either of those houses. How much is your monthly expenses excluding rent?
Topic Author
DLAKE

Post by DLAKE »