Quicken on Two Computers

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills.
Post Reply
Topic Author
virginiabirdie
Posts: 224
Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2015 10:51 am

Quicken on Two Computers

Post by virginiabirdie »

Can I store my primary quicken file (not the backups) on Google Drive? Or is there another networked solution where I can use Quicken on two laptops? Quicken online help says emaphatically that it does not support networked options, but I'm wondering if any of you have tried it with success.

For background, I have a child who needs my laptop on many evening nights. I'd like to get quicken installed on a second laptop.
User avatar
CardinalRule
Posts: 1097
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2017 10:01 am
Location: United States

Re: Quicken on Two Computers

Post by CardinalRule »

I am a snowbird and have desktop computers (Windows) in two different states. I use OneDrive with the Quicken files set to "always on this device." I have never had a problem during the two years I have been doing this. But in my case there is never a situation where the same Quicken file is open at the same time (that would not be good).

When I move to another state each season, I make sure that the Quicken file has synced to the date I had it opened in the other state. Typically that takes just a few seconds. Aside from that, it's barely a "networked" situation in my case. The Quicken file sits physically on two separate hard drives and I am never opening it from a "cloud" drive, per se.

Very recently there has been is a glitch where the "recent" file cannot be opened automatically by Quicken (the user has to "file open" the desired file), apparently due to a recent OneDrive change. For me, it has been a sporadic, minor annoyance:

https://community.quicken.com/discussio ... e/p1?new=1
SteveInNJ
Posts: 59
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2018 10:44 am

Re: Quicken on Two Computers

Post by SteveInNJ »

You could set up Syncthing on both laptops if you don't want to put your files in the cloud.

https://syncthing.net/
Gryphon
Posts: 625
Joined: Sat May 07, 2016 11:43 am
Location: Missouri

Re: Quicken on Two Computers

Post by Gryphon »

Storing your Quicken file in the cloud definitely causes problems with Quicken Mac & is not a good idea. I don't know if it works any better with Quicken Windows.
User avatar
RickBoglehead
Posts: 7705
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2018 8:10 am
Location: In a house

Re: Quicken on Two Computers

Post by RickBoglehead »

The key is two-fold. One, making sure that Google Drive is synching with each PC. Two, making sure before you go to use PC #2 that the Google Drive folder on that PC has the most recent version.

While this seems like Quicken is "using the cloud", it is not. You are, and making sure the cloud deposited the current file on each PC before using it.
Avid user of forums on variety of interests-financial, home brewing, F-150, EV, home repair, etc. Enjoy learning & passing on knowledge. It's PRINCIPAL, not PRINCIPLE. I ADVISE you to seek ADVICE.
evelynmanley
Posts: 952
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2010 9:13 am

Re: Quicken on Two Computers

Post by evelynmanley »

Gryphon wrote: Mon Nov 20, 2023 9:47 am Storing your Quicken file in the cloud definitely causes problems with Quicken Mac & is not a good idea. I don't know if it works any better with Quicken Windows.
Very true for me, in the cloud and not in the cloud. I have Quicken Classic Deluxe Version 7.3.2 on my Mac Mini. I have contacted Quicken several times about the inability to sync between my Mac Mini and laptop, and also the inability to sync to the Quicken app. All the reps I have spoken with told me they don't know how to fix it, and I've spent a ridiculous amount of time on the phone with each of them.
User avatar
mrmass
Posts: 1340
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2018 6:35 pm
Location: MA

Re: Quicken on Two Computers

Post by mrmass »

https://www.quicken.com/support/can-i-s ... 0files.%20

Or use their Quicken Cloud offering.
SimonJester
Posts: 2487
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 12:39 pm

Re: Quicken on Two Computers

Post by SimonJester »

FYI, I store my quicken file with 14 years of data 120Mb file size on a home LAN based Linux server. I share it between my wife's PC and mine, you can only have one quicken open at a time. There is a noticeable slow down in opening the quicken file and performing transactions on it on the LAN based (1 Gig connections) server vs when the file is on my local SDD. So I would think opening the file from google drive would be painful.
"They who can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety." - Benjamin Franklin
User avatar
RickBoglehead
Posts: 7705
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2018 8:10 am
Location: In a house

Re: Quicken on Two Computers

Post by RickBoglehead »

SimonJester wrote: Mon Nov 20, 2023 10:21 am FYI, I store my quicken file with 14 years of data 120Mb file size on a home LAN based Linux server. I share it between my wife's PC and mine, you can only have one quicken open at a time. There is a noticeable slow down in opening the quicken file and performing transactions on it on the LAN based (1 Gig connections) server vs when the file is on my local SDD. So I would think opening the file from google drive would be painful.
It can't be done.

However, Google Drive automatically syncs with an area on your computer, if you set it up. If that's where you put your Quicken file, then it's not accessing the cloud, it's accessing your local drive.
Avid user of forums on variety of interests-financial, home brewing, F-150, EV, home repair, etc. Enjoy learning & passing on knowledge. It's PRINCIPAL, not PRINCIPLE. I ADVISE you to seek ADVICE.
Lastrun
Posts: 1249
Joined: Wed May 03, 2017 6:46 pm

Re: Quicken on Two Computers

Post by Lastrun »

OP, have you looked at Quicken on the Web as a possible solution? I am not saying it will be a solution, just to look at it. I use it sometimes and it is not half bad. It is much better than the iPad app.

https://www.quicken.com/support/quicken ... -questions
obgraham
Posts: 1597
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2013 6:30 pm

Re: Quicken on Two Computers

Post by obgraham »

May not do what OP seeks, but you certainly can load Quicken on two computers, and put the data file on, say, a jump drive. Then swap it out.
Gryphon
Posts: 625
Joined: Sat May 07, 2016 11:43 am
Location: Missouri

Re: Quicken on Two Computers

Post by Gryphon »

RickBoglehead wrote: Mon Nov 20, 2023 9:50 am While this seems like Quicken is "using the cloud", it is not. You are, and making sure the cloud deposited the current file on each PC before using it.
This distinction isn't meaningful on the Mac. Whether the file is actually in the cloud or is stored locally & synced to the cloud, either way Quicken Mac will eventually have problems with it.
User avatar
vnatale
Posts: 2163
Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2010 8:50 pm
Location: Montague, MA

Re: Quicken on Two Computers

Post by vnatale »

I use dropbox.

After I'm done with a session of Quicken on this desktop computer the file goes into dropbox.

Then I can go to another computer, get the file out of dropbox, put it somewhere on that other computer, and then open the file to start using it in Quicken.

Quicken is definitely not a multi-user program (like QuickBooks) where the file can be open and used by multiple users.

You can use the file on any computer that you want but there can only be one "live" file and you need to make sure that whatever computer you are using Quicken on is using that latest version of your personal Quicken file.
Above provided by: Vinny, who always says: "I only regret that I have but one lap to give to my cats." AND "I'm a more-is-more person."
nplusone
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Oct 28, 2023 9:47 am

Re: Quicken on Two Computers

Post by nplusone »

vnatale wrote: Mon Nov 20, 2023 9:03 pm I use dropbox.
After I'm done with a session of Quicken on this desktop computer the file goes into dropbox.
Then I can go to another computer, get the file out of dropbox, put it somewhere on that other computer, and then open the file to start using it in Quicken.
Quicken is definitely not a multi-user program (like QuickBooks) where the file can be open and used by multiple users.
You can use the file on any computer that you want but there can only be one "live" file and you need to make sure that whatever computer you are using Quicken on is using that latest version of your personal Quicken file.
I have simliar setup. I use dropbox on both computers to sync the files.
However,I just let Quicken operate on the Dropox file on both computers.
Quicken does give me warning that this could courrupt data but I have not had any issues. And I have done this for 5+years.

I just make sure that I close quicken on computer1; let the file get synced to computer2; and then open on computer2.
User avatar
vnatale
Posts: 2163
Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2010 8:50 pm
Location: Montague, MA

Re: Quicken on Two Computers

Post by vnatale »

nplusone wrote: Wed Nov 22, 2023 12:55 pm
vnatale wrote: Mon Nov 20, 2023 9:03 pm I use dropbox.
After I'm done with a session of Quicken on this desktop computer the file goes into dropbox.
Then I can go to another computer, get the file out of dropbox, put it somewhere on that other computer, and then open the file to start using it in Quicken.
Quicken is definitely not a multi-user program (like QuickBooks) where the file can be open and used by multiple users.
You can use the file on any computer that you want but there can only be one "live" file and you need to make sure that whatever computer you are using Quicken on is using that latest version of your personal Quicken file.
I have simliar setup. I use dropbox on both computers to sync the files.
However,I just let Quicken operate on the Dropox file on both computers.
Quicken does give me warning that this could courrupt data but I have not had any issues. And I have done this for 5+years.

I just make sure that I close quicken on computer1; let the file get synced to computer2; and then open on computer2.
For all my software programs my data file that I work on is located in Dropbox. Except for QuickBooks and Quicken.

Not remembering my issues with Quicken but I seemed to quickly get the message that it was not going to work located in Dropbox. However, you are successfully using it there so I will try again.
Above provided by: Vinny, who always says: "I only regret that I have but one lap to give to my cats." AND "I'm a more-is-more person."
Post Reply