Am I being terminated or fired/laid-off? Employer says I'm resigning :x)

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
Topic Author
DolphinYay

Am I being terminated or fired/laid-off? Employer says I'm resigning :x)

Post by DolphinYay »

Hello all,

I hope BH's can help me understand my situation and whether I have any rights to unemployment benefits. I've never faced such a situation in the past (luckily). If it matters, I'm a resident of NC, and my employer (a large company) is based in SC. I've been working from home since the pandemic started.

Generally speaking the company has been struggling since I was hired there 3+ years ago. It used to be a private IT company before it was acquired by a public company, but this year it was taken private again by some PE firm.
I am part of a G&A department (finance/accounting/marketing/etc.). It seems that more and more IT work is being shifted to India and G&A work is being moved to Mexico and India... Basically it's a classic story you read/hear in the news that blue collar jobs went abroad first and white collar work is next. I already have quite a few colleagues in Mexico and a couple of them in India. My situation...

I come back from my long vacation on September 1, and my manager sets a 1-on-1 meeting with me for September 12. He starts telling me: "You know we are looking to all the different revenue and expense drivers and what we do in our department to make us successful and you know there's not much what you do here, but you know we like you and maybe we can find something within the company, maybe look on the intranet. I know that this X manager is looking for somebody to fill in a back-fill position in the AR for 3 months, but you can keep looking for something else in the company in the interim. Would you be interested in talking to the X manager?"