Start up advisory board role

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
Topic Author
simplesimon

Start up advisory board role

Post by simplesimon »

Someone asked me to join a board of advisors for a start up. I have no experience in this type of role but have industry experience that the founder wants. It seems like an interesting opportunity and wanted to see if I could message any Bogleheads that had advice to share. Thank you in advance!
Last edited by simplesimon on Sat Aug 06, 2022 5:46 am, edited 1 time in total.
AnnetteLouisan

Re: Start up advisory board role

Post by AnnetteLouisan »

Depends on the industry. Is it in a highly regulated industry?
Topic Author
simplesimon

Post by simplesimon »

The company’s in software while the customers would be in a regulated industry.
psteinx

Post by psteinx »

Depending on how formalized the role is, you may want to enquire about D&O (Directors and Officer Insurance), and generally being careful about being on the hook if things go south.
NewMoneyMustBeSmart

Post by NewMoneyMustBeSmart »

simplesimon wrote: Fri Aug 05, 2022 4:11 pm Someone asked me to join a board of advisors for a start up. I have no experience in this type of role but have industry experience that the founder wants. It seems like an interesting opportunity and wanted to see if any Bogleheads had advice that I could message. Thank you in advance!
This information below is based on my subjective perspective. I'm crazy, I recognize you ignore me.

Companies form advisory boards for one or more of four reasons:

1. To influence other buyers to buy their products
2. To encourage investors to invest in their company
3. To bribe the advisory board member to encourage their own company to buy things
4. To solicit useful information to help the company make good decisions

You probably should do this, and you should tell them you won't do #3.