Interaction between Investment Accts & Local Trust Co.

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
Topic Author
lawman3966

Interaction between Investment Accts & Local Trust Co.

Post by lawman3966 »

I'm new to trusts and wills, so please bear with me.

I'm posting to learn more about the interaction between my local trust company and investment accounts listing the trust as a beneficiary. I intend to leave money in trust for two nieces who are still teenagers. My current thought is to have the assets placed in investment accounts at Schwab (CS) and to list the trust account at my local trust co. as the beneficiary.

I have called both the trust services and trust hotline at CS and asked whether I need to set up a "trust account" at CS and then arrange to have control over the assets transferred to my local trust company once I pass on. I know that I know nothing about this topic. But I was disappointed to discover that the person at the CS trust hotline was no better informed than I was, and simply gave me another phone number to call (the trust services number). I called trust services, failed to reach a live person, and left a call-back number. I have yet to receive a phone call from them. Hence this message.

Any information shedding light on this admittedly basic element of trust accounts would be appreciated.
Last edited by lawman3966 on Wed Jun 22, 2022 5:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.
bsteiner

Re: Interaction between Investment Accts & Local Trust Co.

Post by bsteiner »

You have to create the trusts, either in your Will (most common), or in a separate trust instrument.

Then you have to leave the assets to these trusts, either in your WIll (most common), or in some other way.