1031 Exchange to REIT Fund?

Non-investing personal finance issues including insurance, credit, real estate, taxes, employment and legal issues such as trusts and wills
Topic Author
truenyer

1031 Exchange to REIT Fund?

Post by truenyer »

I'd like everyone's expertise. My in-laws (late 70s) own their primary residence outright. They don't have many retirement investments and their primary retirement income comes from a rental property they own.

They are thinking of selling the property into a 1031 exchange in order to avoid cap gains. I have no experience in this area, so I would like some opinions. Here is a brief description:
I want to sell the rental right away and avoid 75K-100K of Capital Gains Tax and Depreciation (will check with accountant on amount) by doing a 1031 Tax Deferred Exchange into a REIT (Real Estate Investment Trust), which will cost a little less than that. (10% + $1200). The sale of the property would cost about 9% of the $700-$850 that it is worth. So we should have about $650K to invest.
Other investments will not give us the ability to avoid Cap Gains, so we would only have $ about 575K to invest if we did not put it in a REIT. Think of the REIT as a stock that is fully liquid after 3 years.
We could get about the same $2000K per month from a $600K investment, growing about 4% per year historically. We could supplement our available dollars by selling some after 3 years (maybe before), and pay zero or low capital gains tax each year, at our income level. (He said cap gains was zero, 10%, or 15% based on income level).

[Wife] is concerned we would not be diversifying, but the minimum for a REIT is $500K and the other investments would mean paying capital gains on the balance.

The umbrella company for 1031 Capital Solutions is Concord Investment Services, which [broker] said is the Number 1 company in US for REIT volume. They have choices other companies do not have.